Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

I’ve been obsessed with this for like a year now. We don’t really eat oatmeal here in Portugal, at least I’ve never met anyone who does, and that’s a waste.

I got this idea from Gemma Stafford and her incredible microwave recipes! https://www.biggerbolderbaking.com/microwave-oatmeal/

It’s pretty easy and you can feel really full if you eat slowly and really pay attention to it, enjoy every bite. I keep hearing about how great oatmeal is for you and I think I’m going to be making this forever! I don’t really know what else to say here so let’s move on to the recipe, which is what you’re here for 😉

Ingredients:

Half an apple
40 gr of quick oats
80 ml of water
Cinnamon (optional maybe? Never tried it without it so I don’t know what it would taste like)
Milk (optional)

Process:

  1. Cut the apple into small cubes (the smaller the better, you’ll get apple for each bite instead of just oats) and put them in a mug or small bowl;
  2. Add 40 gr of oats and cinnamon (I personally add a lot of it);
  3. Mix it all together and then pour in 80 ml of water (not hot water);
  4. Mix it and put it in the microwave for 1 minute. If there’s still a lot of water when you take it out put it there a little more. But you can try it a few times and see what works best for you.
  5. If you want, add some milk to make it moist (I use soy milk and it gives it that delicious extra vanilla flavour).

Nutritional info: all I have for you is the amount of calories, which is 190 kcal. When the recipes don’t come with the information I just calculate the calories by looking at the labels. If you want more info you can do the same for your carbs, fiber, etc.

Leave a Reply

