Apple Crumble Cake

This recipe is by the awesome Donal Skehan, you can find it at http://www.donalskehan.com/recipes/irish-apple-crumble-cake/. You’ll also find a video, which I suggest you watch, it’s very helpful! This guy is the king of desserts (at least to me). Whenever I have to make one his website is the first thing I check.

I know this isn’t exactly healthy (no, just because it has apples it doesn’t make it healthier than chocolate cake), but it’s the best cake I have ever tasted 😮 There’s just something about it that I can’t get over. So I make it once in a while and try to stick to one slice, which is very very painful. You’ll get what I mean if you try it.

I didn’t make any changes to this recipe, since all the ingredients are “normal”, there’s nothing I don’t usually have at home. And also there is no point in trying to make it healthier, if it’s not something you eat often you just have to go for it!

I hope you give this cake a try. We all know chocolate is the best thing in the world and I swear I’d prefer this over a chocolate cake. This says a lot, trust me.

P.S.: as I was writing this I remembered that the last time I made this I didn’t have large eggs, only small, so the recipe turned out a little dry. I added some milk in the end, but maybe if I had used one more egg it would have worked. So the point is that you should pay attention to the consistency and you can still fix it before you put it in the oven 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 110 gr of butter (room temperature, otherwise it will be very difficult to mix and it won’t stay as well);
  • 150 gr of brown sugar;
  • 2 large eggs;
  • 210 gr of flour;
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder;
  • a pinch of salt;
  • 1 teaspoon of cinnamon;
  • 300 gr of apple (peeled, and sliced in little cubes. Usually this is about 3 apples for me, after I’ve cored them).

Ingredients for the crumble topping: (you can add this topping to any cake, it gives it that cool crunch)

  • 50 gr of vanilla sugar (caster sugar works the same, you just don’t get that extra flavour);
  • 50 gr of flour;
  • 50 gr of butter (room temperature, definitely important here).

Process:

  1. Pre-heat the over to 180ºC / gas mark 8 / 350º F. Grease a 20cm cake tin with a removable base (this can’t really be upside down, so a removable base makes it a lot easier);
  2. Beat (with a mixer) the butter and sugar until pale;
  3. Add the eggs, one at a time, mixing until incorporated;
  4. Mix the flour, baking powder, salt and cinnamon in a separate bowl, to make sure it’s all even;
  5. Add the dry mixture to the wet and fold through until you have a thick cake batter;
  6. Add the apples and mix;
  7. Pour the batter into the cake tin and spread it as evenly as possible;
  8. In a bowl, use your fingers to mix the ingredients and make crumbs;
  9. Sprinkle the crumbs on your cake and put it in the oven for around 40 minutes (keep an eye on it, you can use a toothpick and when it comes out dry it’s probably good).
  10. Leave it to cool for around 10 minutes and then you can remove the side of the tin, so your cake will just be on the base and cool completely.

Nutritional info: this recipe doesn’t come with information, so the first time I made it I tried to calculate the calories and I got around 370 (if I remember it correctly), for 1/8 of the cake. Sorry I don’t have more info, but you can easily check the labels on everything you use and how much of it you use, and calculate it yourself! You can adjust it to the portion you’re going to eat, just divide it by the number of slices you’ll get 😉

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

