Healthy Banana Bread

So this recipe comes from http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2017/01/16/healthy-banana-bread/.

I had a few bananas ready to be thrown out so I decided to look for a recipe that asked for  very ripe bananas. I’m also trying to eat as healthy as possible, so when I saw that I didn’t have to use sugar, I knew this was it!
I changed the recipe a little bit, to adapt it to what I had at home. I replaced the baking soda for baking powder, but the final product didn’t really come out all fluffy and it didn’t really rise. It’s kinda dense, but I’m good with it! It’s also way too sweet, and I didn’t even use all the honey I should have. But I guess there are types of honey that are sweeter than others, and it really depends on your taste. I don’t love my banana bread by itself but with peanut butter it’s delicious!

Since I probably won’t be making my version of the recipe for a while, I can’t try to improve it, so if you have all the ingredients I suggest you follow the original. Her banana bread looks waaaay better than mine, trust me xD Next time I’ll add less honey and change the baking powder quantity and if it comes out any better I’ll update. But anyway, this recipe is great so this is the banana bread recipe I’m sticking to.

Also, the nutritional info I’m giving you is the one on the original recipe. I’m sure it’s not exactly the same in this version but since this is for me ( 😉 ) it works.

Ingredients:

  • 240 gr of any flour (I made oat flour out of quick oats, it’s better for you and it adds an awesome flavour);
  • Around 2.5 teaspoons of baking powder (different if you have baking soda, check the original);
  • 3/4 teaspoon of salt;
  • 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon (it’s optional, but I love it!);
  • 360 gr of mashed ripe banana;
  • 125 gr of yogurt;
  • 175 gr of honey;
  • 45 ml of milk;
  • 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract.

Process:

  1. Pre-heat the over to 180ºC / gas mark 4 /360º F;
  2. Mix the dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, salt and cinnamon);
  3. Mash the banana with a fork, as well as possible;
  4. Mix the wet ingredients (yogurt, milk, vanilla and honey);
  5. Add the banana and wet mix to the dry and mix it all together.
  6. Pour it on a greased pan (or line it with parchment) and put it in the oven for around 30 minutes.

Nutritional info:

Per 64 gr:
Calories:    92 kcal
Fat:             0.6 gr
Carbs:        21.1 gr
Fiber:    2.5 gr
Sugars: 7.7 gr
Protein:     2.2 gr

As you can see, it’s not very high on calories, low fat and high fiber. I’m guessing the sugars are lower than that if you use my version of the recipe.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

